Überspringen zu Hauptinhalt

Our Philosophy

We believe, with memore, therapy is a real pleasure

Since 2014, we have been developing therapeutic-preventive video games for healthy seniors and seniors affected by dementia, Parkinson’s disease and stroke.

For us, prevention combined with fun is at the forefront of game design. Supporting therapy and rehabilitation (e.g. improving coordination and gait safety) is an additional motivation for us.

As an interdisciplinary team we developed and established the eHealth solution memoreBox as the first product. Since 2015, this game console has been regarded as „a benchmark in the therapeutic gamification industry“ (LIFT Basel).

The products are fun and promote community and self-esteem. That’s why they are extremely simple, lifelike and versatile. The video games support the prevention of typical age-related diseases and accompany the therapy of diseases such as dementia or Parkinson’s, even in advanced stages. Thus, they help to maintain the cognitive performance of seniors and patients and complement other forms of therapy and leisure activities. Without any medication or equipment, playing also benefits motor skills and fitness, e.g. for fall prevention or stroke rehabilitation.

We cooperate with leading research institutes and scientists to further develop our innovations. In addition, we are supported by various sponsors (including the Charité Foundation, Microsoft, the Max Planck Institute for Human Development) and have received a number of awards such as the „Digital Health Germany Award“ from CISCO, the Social Business Award (SensAbility) from WHU, the Rudi Assauer Prize and many more.

Since 2014, we have been developing therapeutic-preventive video games for healthy seniors and seniors affected by dementia, Parkinson’s disease and stroke.

For us, prevention combined with fun is at the forefront of game design. Supporting therapy and rehabilitation (e.g. improving coordination and gait safety) is an additional motivation for us.

As an interdisciplinary team we developed and established the eHealth solution memoreBox as the first product. Since 2015, this game console has been regarded as „a benchmark in the therapeutic gamification industry“ (LIFT Basel).

The products are fun and promote community and self-esteem. That’s why they are extremely simple, lifelike and versatile. The video games support the prevention of typical age-related diseases and accompany the therapy of diseases such as dementia or Parkinson’s, even in advanced stages. Thus, they help to maintain the cognitive performance of seniors and patients and complement other forms of therapy and leisure activities. Without any medication or equipment, playing also benefits motor skills and fitness, e.g. for fall prevention or stroke rehabilitation.

We cooperate with leading research institutes and scientists to further develop our innovations. In addition, we are supported by various sponsors (including the Charité Foundation, Microsoft, the Max Planck Institute for Human Development) and have received a number of awards such as the „Digital Health Germany Award“ from CISCO, the Social Business Award (SensAbility) from WHU, the Rudi Assauer Prize and many more.

Our Team

Compassionate. Video game enthusiasts. Scientifically inclined.

We are a group of video game enthusiasts who…

  • combine modern game design with cutting-edge medical research
  • push their limits every day to make RetroBrain R&D a lighthouse in the digital health field
  • are convinced that „delivering letters“ in a video game can not only be fun but also have a therapeutic effect

Our 20-person team has a clear vision: to ensure that therapy and prevention in (partial) inpatient care should be fun.

The use of video games brings us closer to this vision every day. Following the principle of Homo Ludens (that man is only human where he plays), our everyday life is naturally shaped by games of different kinds. So, game consoles and board game evenings are not a ‘feelgood’ gimmick for us, but simply a part of our identity. Flat organisation and the possibility to present and implement your own ideas at any time is what makes us special. We are always keen to develop ourselves not only as a company, but also as individuals.

Management

Adalbert Pakura

CEO

„Many members of our RetroBrain R&D team have family members suffering from dementia and are therefore affected themselves. Contributing to the overall happiness and wellbeing of the patients with the help of “memore” is one of our greatest motivations. If the product additionally has a preventive, therapeutic and rehabilitative effect on various medical conditions and is supportive when it comes to the legal requirements of the documentation – all the better!“

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Überspringen zu Hauptinhalt

Unsere Philosophie

Wir glauben, mit memore macht Therapie richtig Freude

Wir entwickeln seit 2014 therapeutisch-präventiv wirksame Videospiele für gesunde und von Demenz, Parkinson und Schlaganfall betroffene Seniorinnen und Senioren.

Im Vordergrund der Spielgestaltung  steht für uns die Prävention kombiniert mit Spaß. Die Unterstützung von Therapie und Rehabilitation, z.B. zur Verbesserung der Koordination und Gangsicherheit, treiben uns zusätzlich an.

Als interdisziplinäres Team entwickelten und etablierten wir als erstes Produkt die eHealth Lösung memoreBox. Diese Spielekonsole gilt seit 2015 als „a benchmark in the therapeutic gamification industry“ (LIFT Basel).

Die Produkte machen Freude, fördern die Gemeinschaft und das Selbstwertgefühl. Deshalb sind sie extrem einfach, lebensnah und vielseitig ausgestaltet. Die Videospiele unterstützen die Präventionsarbeit gegen typische Alterserkrankungen und begleiten die Therapie von Krankheiten, wie z.B. Demenz oder Parkinson, auch in fortgeschrittenen Stadien. Sie helfen somit die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit von SeniorInnen und PatientInnen zu erhalten und ergänzen andere Therapieformen und Freizeitangebote. Ganz ohne Medikamente und Geräte kommt das Spielen damit auch den motorischen Fähigkeiten und der Fitness zu Gute, z.B. zur Sturzprävention oder Schlaganfallrehabilitation.

Wir kooperieren mit führenden Forschungsinstituten und Wissenschaftlern zur Weiterentwicklung unserer Innovationen. Außerdem werden wir von diversen Förderern (u.a. der Charité Stiftung, Microsoft, dem Max-Planck-Institute for Human Development) unterstützt und erhielt eine Reihe an Preise, wie beispielsweise den “Digital Health Germany Award” von CISCO, den Social Business Award (SensAbility) der WHU, den Rudi-Assauer-Preis uvm.

Wir entwickeln seit 2014 therapeutisch-präventiv wirksame Videospiele für gesunde und von Demenz, Parkinson und Schlaganfall betroffene Seniorinnen und Senioren.

Im Vordergrund der Spielgestaltung  steht für uns die Prävention kombiniert mit Spaß. Die Unterstützung von Therapie und Rehabilitation, z.B. zur Verbesserung der Koordination und Gangsicherheit, treiben uns zusätzlich an.

Als interdisziplinäres Team entwickelten und etablierten wir als erstes Produkt die eHealth Lösung memoreBox. Diese Spielekonsole gilt seit 2015 als „a benchmark in the therapeutic gamification industry“ (LIFT Basel).

Die Produkte machen Freude, fördern die Gemeinschaft und das Selbstwertgefühl. Deshalb sind sie extrem einfach, lebensnah und vielseitig ausgestaltet. Die Videospiele unterstützen die Präventionsarbeit gegen typische Alterserkrankungen und begleiten die Therapie von Krankheiten, wie z.B. Demenz oder Parkinson, auch in fortgeschrittenen Stadien. Sie helfen somit die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit von SeniorInnen und PatientInnen zu erhalten und ergänzen andere Therapieformen und Freizeitangebote. Ganz ohne Medikamente und Geräte kommt das Spielen damit auch den motorischen Fähigkeiten und der Fitness zu Gute, z.B. zur Sturzprävention oder Schlaganfallrehabilitation.

Wir kooperieren mit führenden Forschungsinstituten und Wissenschaftlern zur Weiterentwicklung unserer Innovationen. Außerdem werden wir von diversen Förderern (u.a. der Charité Stiftung, Microsoft, dem Max-Planck-Institute for Human Development) unterstützt und erhielt eine Reihe an Preise, wie beispielsweise den “Digital Health Germany Award” von CISCO, den Social Business Award (SensAbility) der WHU, den Rudi-Assauer-Preis uvm.

Unser Team

Mitfühlend. Videospielbegeistert. Wissenschaftlich interessiert.

Wir sind eine Gruppe von Videospielbegeisterten, die…

  • modernes Gamedesign mit hochaktueller medizinischer Forschung verknüpfen
  • jeden Tag an ihre Grenzen gehen, um RetroBrain R&D zu einem Leuchtturm im Digital Health Bereich zu machen
  • davon überzeugt sind, dass “Briefe austragen” in einem Videospiel nicht nur Spaß machen kann, sondern auch therapeutisch wirkt

Unser 25-köpfiges Team hat eine klare Vision: Dafür zu sorgen, dass Therapie und Prävention in der (teil-) stationären Pflege Spaß machen sollte.

Mit dem Einsatz von Videospielen kommen wir dieser Vision täglich ein Stück näher. Dem Grundsatz des Homo Ludens (dass der Mensch nur da ganz Mensch ist, wo er spielt) folgend, ist unser Alltag natürlich geprägt von Spielen verschiedener Art. Spielkonsolen und Brettspielabende sind bei uns also kein Feelgood-Gimmick, sondern schlicht ein Teil unserer Identität. Flache Hierarchien und die Möglichkeit, eigene Ideen jederzeit vorzubringen und in die Tat umzusetzen, machen uns aus. Uns dabei nicht nur als Company, sondern auch als Individuen weiterzuentwickeln, ist uns immer ein zentrales Anliegen.

Geschäftsführung

Adalbert Pakura

CEO

„Viele in unserem Team bei RetroBrain R&D haben im Familienumfeld an Demenz erkrankte Angehörige und sind damit selbst betroffen. Wenn wir mit „memore“ einen Beitrag für mehr Freude und Wohlbefinden im Alltag sorgen, so ist allein das für uns alle eine enorme Motivation. Wenn das Produkt zusätzlich bei unterschiedlichen Krankheitsbildern einen präventiven, therapeutischen und rehabilitativen Nutzen hat und bei gesetzlichen Vorgaben der Dokumentation unterstützen kann – umso besser!“

Du möchtest Teil unseres Teams werden? Schau gern bei unseren aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen vorbei!

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden